Harbor Style Harbor Style March 2018 : Page 90

Family: Married almost 29 years to Jeff; three daughters, Lauren (25), Kay la (23) and Mariah (16) Favorite thing(s) about living/working in Charlotte County: I enjoy the beautiful weather that mak es an active lifestyle possible . Years with Count y: 5 Where are you from? Michigan originally. I moved to Florida 5 years ago. What is your educational background? I have a Bachelor’s in Business Administration & Master’s (Cum Laude) in Human Resources Development from Siena Heights University. I am Certified with the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM – SCP) and am a Senior Professional in Human Resources. What is your prior career/employment history? (I was) the Director of Human Resources and Central Administrator and Business Manager for public and private schools in Adrian, Mich., (and a) Human Resources Specialist and Group Developer for Pilkington North America, in Clinton, Mich., providing contracting services to General Motors and other automotive customers. (I am also a) member (of numerous national, state and local) Resource and Labor Relations Associations. What is your current “job description”? I plan develop, organize and direct all phases of personnel management for the County. I manage labor relations and negotiate union contacts, recruitment and hiring, performance management, compensation and legal issues for 1,100+ employees. (I also) determine and create legal and administrative policies, procedures and regulations; conduct wage surveys and special management studies relative to employee relations; deliver new employee orientation, staff training and development; and supervise a team of eight human resource professionals. Do you enjoy your job? I enjoy being a public servant in the field of Human Resources and I love the people I work with. What is the most difficult part of your job? Handling the negative part of Human Resources, (such as) terminations and investigations. What is the one accomplishment during your tenure there that you are most proud of? There are so many exciting projects that Human Resources gets to be a part of so it is difficult to give one accomplishment. However, I would say the projects we work on can be summarized as organizational change management. I have a great team and love to see them succeed. Do you think our local government needs more women leaders? Absolutely! A diverse workforce is what gives any organization a competitive edge and our business is about serving the citizens with integrity. What hobbies/activities do you take part in when not at work? (I like) fishing, enjoying the beach, reading (and) enjoying family and friends. (I am a) volunteer member of my church’s Leadership Team and Finance Ministry and (also) participate in mission trips and serve at the Welcome Center. Who did you look up to when you were young? My grandmother, Phyllis. She was a strong woman of faith. She would talk to me about world events (and all kinds of things). I connected with her. She was a great woman.

Previous Page  Next Page

Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here