Harbor Style Harbor Style March 2018 : Page 94

Where are you from? Leeds, a city in Yorkshire in the North of England. What is your educational background? I have a Bachelor of Science, with honors, from the University of Wales College Cardiff in public and private sector service management. ( Jubb is also a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners and a Certified Floodplain Manager.) What is your prior career/employment history? I worked in the contact center for a major retail bank in the UK. Relocated with my family…to Charlotte County and was lucky enough to be hired as a business services supervisor for Charlotte County Community Development. I…held different position/ titles…(and) was essentially responsible for…administration, customer service, fiscal and general operations. What is your current “job description”? I oversee the day to day operations of the county’s Community Development Department…approximately 100 people…tasked with facilitating all land development activities in the county from long-range planning…to code enforcement. I am also the County’s Community Ratings System coordinator…(helping)…reduce the cost of…citizens flood insurance policies through effective management of development in the areas most susceptible to flooding. Do you enjoy your job? I absolutely love my job! I get to work with all different sectors of the community, am involved in decisions that can make a real difference in Charlotte County, and work every day with a fantastic team dedicated to public service. What is the most difficult part of your job? Finding a balance between what is best for the individual and what is best for the community. What is the one accomplishment during your tenure there that you are most proud of? I am most proud of the work my (innovative, flexible and agile) team has done to change the perception of this department. This has led to accolades from several high profile developers in the area, and the department being viewed as leaders in community development. Do you think our local government needs more women leaders? I think Charlotte County does a good job of encouraging and developing talent without regard to gender, and we are fairly evenly represented in the County’s executive team. What hobbies/activities do you take part in when not at work? I love to fish, both freshwater and saltwater, when I can. I also love to eat out, especially in the great independent restaurants we have in this area. I also love attending concerts and listening to live music. What’s #1 on your wish list? To become an American citizen! County: 14 ith w s ar e Y Kevin for 23 to ied r r a Family: M , Belle dogs (Bonnie ee r th s; year asted a rose-bre and ) illy and T (Dusty) cockatoo about living/ hing(s) t e t ri o : Fav e County lott Char working in the beaches and ities I enjoy the door activ out t n e r e ff is many di find there so al I but , t close by y here tha mmunit o c a sense of areas… more urban in sing s is mi tion the ve to men ha I , se Of cour ys and t sunny da …brigh weather ratures. warm tempe

Previous Page  Next Page

Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here